Have you thought of me?

So today I attended a mixer for the Student Health Advocates at my university and it’s a program that I really want to join. I had the chance to talk to two people whom I haven’t seen since before the summer of 2015 and it was wonderful to see them both.

But I wanted to talk about one in particular.

I had not seen him in at least 6 months, and when we caught up, he greeted me with so much warmth. It can be extremely difficult as one of 24,000 undergraduates to meet other students and maintain friendships on such a large campus, but this guy has been different.

He has a certain character that I haven’t met in anyone else. Calm and collected, but a bit of excitement in his eyes. It was the most amazing feeling to catch up with him for about an hour before I had an 8pm physics class (which I’m currently sitting in right now). Reminiscing about the struggles that we faced 2 years ago in the basement of the computer science and engineering lab, and all the brief moments when we had caught up. He decided to stick with his major even though he hates it and regrets it. Funny how we both went down our own paths.

He told me that he thought “oh I haven’t seen Kiana in a while” and boom, I decide to show up. That’s how it happens. That’s how it always happens. There have been so many instances when I will think about a particular person and then I will cross paths with them the next day. And it makes me wonder, whenever I think about other people who are so far away, I wonder if they are thinking of me too.

It’s just so funny to me that two people can cross paths at the same place at the same time and share a connection.

This coincidence today just has so much importance to me that I had to write about it.

I know I haven’t been updating my blog very much. The year of 2015 was supposed to be a year of pictures. And the reason for that was because I wanted to see how much I changed and to remember to capture more memories. It definitely has served its’ purpose and it’s a lot of fun to look back on what I have written.

But this blog will probably change course and my goal is to write longer posts with more content and thought.

That should be all for now!  Happy 1st day of February by the way!

 

 

 

Leave a comment