Black Love

February is Black History Month and so I wrote a poem.

I miss writing. It’s very cathartic for me, and I’m hoping to write more often in my journal and my blog. I’ve been meaning to do vlogs as well for a really long time, but school has kept me well occupied.

I’ve wanted to challenge myself and do something outside of my comfort zone so I decided to write a poem and perform during the “Let it Flow” event happening later in February. I have not spoken in front of a really huge crowd since middle school graduation, with 2100 people. The expected attendance for Let it Flow is around 300, so that will be pretty fun. We’ll see how it goes. I definitely want to get back in poetry again, but I guess this is definitely a good start! It will also be my first time performing a poem and I’m really excited for it. Here’s an excerpt! It’s one of my favorite parts.

Love.

Look to your left, and then to your right and then you will realize why we have to fight. 2% of our undergrad student population is black. They are our classmates, our co-workers, our siblings and our friends. We need to be there for each other, at all times, without end. There are black students here on our campus, yes they exist. They are more than just marked bodies, more than damn statistics.

Love.

Come visit and see me perform in person! It’ll be an awesome experience. I hope to get someone to record it. We need people to recognize and be more aware of their placement on this earth and how we can best help other people.

Cheers to black history month. Talk to you soon.

Leave a comment